Surprised by Sanctification

As an associate lay elder I have the privilege to serve the church and attend meetings with Pastor Mark, Pastor Jeff, Selby and David and if I am smart listening a lot and learning a lot. I was blessed by a recent meeting to listen to a discussion on what sanctification looks like and how God accomplishes sanctification. After the meeting I found myself reflecting and rejoicing over the five years my family has been at Leroy and the work Jesus is doing in our lives.

I came to the church weary from church activity and drifting rather than pursuing Christ. Our first Sunday at Leroy, Dave Carroll shared on Jesus providing rest for the weary, talk about finding a cool drink of water in the middle of the desert.

Paul uses an interesting phrase in Eph 5:25-27 Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the Word, so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.

At Leroy there have been many opportunities to be washed by the Word. I am so blessed to be able to weekly sit under so many gifted teachers of God’s Word at 90@9. The teaching of God’s Word from the pulpit at Leroy will sanctify your life if you pursue and apply it. I would encourage you to read the passage we are going to look at ahead of hearing it, check out the teachers and books that Pastor Mark references, even if they aren’t from this century. Take advantage of Godly relationships with precious saints at Leroy and allow them to speak God’s Word into your life.

I came to Leroy weary and find myself 5 years in surprised by the sanctifying work of being washed by the Word of God. I am so looking forward to the continuing work of God sanctifying us into that spotless bride.

  • Steve Selle
Leave a Reply

